Tuesday, February 20, 2007

losing steam, reduced to a puddle, about to evaporate, desperately crying for help

so that whole turning over a new leaf hasn't been working out so well. instead i am really losing steam. instead i realized that my hatred for library school is making it harder and harder to actually accomplish anything. instead i'm barely keeping up with my readings, haven't even started a big assignment that is due thursday, and in general have lost all ambition. i can't think of a topic for my final paper/thesis and am beginning to worry that i will not graduate at all.


i know what you are thinking, "library school can't be that hard" and you're right. you are 100% correct. it isn't that hard. it is just so not what i want to be doing right now. i am so miserable i cannot even convey my feelings in this stupid fucking blog. sitting through the measly two classes i actually have to attend is becoming unbearable and the online class is even worse because i'm not keeping up at all. i am seriously nearing meltdown status and i am only 1/3 of the way through the semester. my mini-vacation in two weeks can hardly come soon enough. although, it is really just one more excuse for me not to accomplish anything. "nope. sorry. i didn't do those readings cuz i was on vacation. my bad."

the writing of this blog is a prime example. i should be working on the e-publishing assignment that is due but i'm not. i'm typing this stupid rant and downloading images of tea pots. christ. can anyone help me? does anyone out there understand my pain and suffering? anyone? how did all of those other people manage to make it through library school? how? how?

2 comments:

Anonymous said...

Pull it together! You'll do fine.

Anonymous said...

Hey there,

Well, it sounds like you're feeling pretty down at the moment. I can definitely empathize with you. About a month ago, I was feeling exactly how you are feeling right now. Your header subtitle pretty much summed up how I felt. I felt like I was wasting my time studying a "science" that really wasn't. Every time I would explain to someone that I was studying to be an archivist, they would always counter, "You need a masters degree to do that? I have a BA in history and wasn't able to see the scholarship in my new study of archives. I am a big fan of learning and scholarship and intellectual pursuits and was seeing my masters program as a joke juxtaposed against programs in other areas, like engineering or medicine or even history.

Out of nowhere, however, I began to become extremely excited about my field of study. I was preparing a paper on the Sandy Berger theft from the National Archives and began to see that we archivists are relavant and so are the issues we study.

After beginning to work through these thoughts, I began to do better and better work. I began to understand the basis for the archival profession. Archivists are not records clerks. Becoming an archivist means becoming a defender of the social cultural narrative. We act as historians in a professional sense, preserving the documentary heritage of our time. Becoming an archivist means becoming an academic, just as much as becoming a historian or anthropologist does.

So, basically I would not fret so much about the legitimacy of what you are studying. Start to look at the deeper scholarly aspects of the field. Hopefully you will become excited just as I did, and kick the burden of guilt complex you hold for studing library "science" ;P

By the way, I was exhausted while writing this, so if it doesn't make sense, my apologies.

peace out and stay positive!