Tuesday, August 08, 2006

the path toward the archive is a long and boring road


so, i am in library school. i want to be an archivist. i already work in an archive but if i want to get a "big people's paycheck" i have to finish this wretched program first. why is it wretched? because they do not have an archive focus so i am taking really boring and mundane classes about metadata and cataloging and public library policies and standards and boolean search techniques and library of congress subject headings and none of it applies to my current job. i do not, nor will i ever, learn the skills i need to become a bona fide archivist in this program. why am i attending KSU? it's close.

i just started at the beginning of the summer but i hope to be done by next summer - next fall at the latest. it is only 36 credit hours. when i am done i will have my masters in library and information science (M.L.I.S.) degree. basically library school is just another hoop to jump through.

No comments: