so today was my last day of summer III and access to information with captain talks-alot. i have a whole week off before the fall semester begins and i am so excited. woo-hoo! what will i do with my time? oh yeah, that's right work a ton. oh well, at least i'll have a break from room 317 for a while.so, the final exam. ugh. i don't know how well i did. you know how sometimes you just reach the point where you can't study anymore and it feels like everything you're reading is evaporating inside your head? that is how i felt yesterday. i ended up going to bed pretty early with the, "i'll get up early and study in the morning" plan. well, it kinda worked. i was in the library at 7:30 right when they opened with my bagel and latte ready to study. i reviewed my notes again. same thing though, i just could not concentrate. something about reference interviews, facts on file, bartlett's quotations, world almanacs, and all this web mumbo jumbo just wasn't sticking with me. reference work in the archives is SO different. i don't use any of the stuff we've talked about in class. another class with no mention of archives.....sigh.
i gave up. enjoyed my latte, checked my myspace page, and then headed to class to wing the final. i wung it all right. if by "wing" and "wung" i mean totally bombed. geez. at least there wasn't a big long essay question - i would've been fucked. oh well.
my final paper though - that was good stuff. i analyzed google scholar and compared it with library databases. a fine job if i do say so myself. very fine. too bad it's only worth like 20 points.
have you heard of this google scholar thing? check it out. suppossedly it retreives scholarly material (i.e. journal articles). not really though. however, it's a good start. it's only two years old though so i'm sure it will improve. did you know that google in general is only 8 years old? am i the only one who finds their rise to popularity astounding and a little frightening? when was the last time you used a search engine other than google? think about it. i do. and i think they are trying to take over the world. i'm not sure how yet but they are working on it somehow.

2 comments:
Aw. this was a really quality post.
Hey admin, very instructive blog mail! Pleasee continue this wondrous work..
[IMG]http://www.sedonarapidweightloss.com/weightloss-diet/34/b/happy.gif[/IMG]
Post a Comment