so here i am. two weeks into the fall semester. i am a graduate student. sounds important, right? then someone inevitably asks and i must answer, "library and information science." i feel like a dick even saying science. i've taken to saying, "library school." hum. i say that while at the same time realizing i couldn't handle much more. am i reading everything that i am suppossed to be? no. do i understand what the instructors are talking about during lecture? sometimes. have i eased up on the drinking and shenanigans? no. does this equation equal A+'s across the board? my best guess is no. probably not.i have projects for each class. projects. not little things. big things that i'm gonna have to take responsibility for and actually complete. big things i'm gonna have to at least somewhat understand. how do people do this? how do they accomplish all of this and understand it? i bet i'll accomplish it. i'm pretty sure i'll finish it. but, will i understand it or understand why the hell i have to learn it in order to become a good archivist? i won't be a dick and say no. instead i'll wait and see how it pans out. i may surprise myself. hell, ksu may even surprise me.
i just read a book about librarianship that inspired me. that sounds like an oxymoron right? i know. but it's true. if there are any actual librarians or library school students who have somehow stumbled across this meaningless blog - take heed and check out Revolting Librarians Redux. please, please, please read it. you can get it through OHLink. i did. there is a chapter entitled, "library school is revolting." one of my favorite chapters which i cannot reference here cuz i returned the book to the library and i am typing this blog at home in microsoft word and will later transfer it to the actual blog cuz i am fighting the man and do not have the internet at
my apartment (digital divide muthafuckas!!!) which also means i can't just "google it." anyways, that good chapter i was talking about - the person who wrote my favorite segment had to use a pseudonym. she/he can't reveal her/his identity. she/he also won't reveal the school she/he is attending but pretty much lets the reader know how ridiculous it is. she/he poses some very good questions to the ala (american library association) about accreditation bullshit and other crap that ksu brags about while neglecting the needs and interests of its students. anyways.....
(*hops off soap box*)
i won't be a dick and say library school is pointless. not yet anyways. i must admit i certainly felt that way over the summer taking classes with captain windbag and the boringest (yea, that's right. i said boringest.) instructor who has ever given a power point presentation. i also feel that way when i think about the loan debt i am accumulating and how much i'm actually gonna make as a bona fide archivist. however, i must say that the classes i am taking now just may teach me something useful. that's right. something useful! is it worth the arm, leg, and first born i've promised? probably not but at least i feel like i'm learning something. and besides, if i wasn't in library school what the fuck else would i be doing?
i have a friend who keeps talking about getting a real job. what the fuck is that? we determined that a real job is one that actually pays well. hum. if my calculations are correct (and i'm sure they are as i am a veritable math whiz) it seems quite feasible that i will never have a real job in my life. 40 hours a week? real responsibility? ugh. the thought makes me cringe and throw up in my mouth a little. on the other hand, making double what i am now certainly wouldn't be too bad. hey, that might actually be a living wage! is that what library school is going to give me? a magic ticket with the stamp, "living wage required." probably not. but again i pose the question, "what the fuck else should i be doing?" i came up with the same answer, "hum.........."

No comments:
Post a Comment